Derived from the Arabic word halwa, which means sweet confection, halvah’s centuries-old origins are widely debated; nearly every Middle Eastern culture claims it as its own. According to some legends, the method of cooking halwa originated during the Ottoman Empire (1520 to 1566). Back then Suleiman, the tenth and longest-reigning Sultan of the empire, maintained a separate kitchen only for sweet items and halwa was one of them. This sweet Turkish delight was prepared by the helvahâneli (confectioner) with three basic ingredients: starch, fat and sweetener.
Our Halva is
· Gluten free
· Dairy free
· Suitable for halal and kosher diets